All you need to know about Derry

Londonderry (commonly known as Derry) is the second biggest city in Northern Ireland and the fourth biggest city in Ireland. The name Derry is an Anglicisation of the Irish name Doire or Doire Cholmcille, meaning ‘oak-wood of Colmcille’. ‘London’ was added to the name in 1613 when the city was granted a Royal Charter by King James I, changing the city's name to Londonderry. However, although Londonderry is the legal name, most people refer to the city as Derry.

In 2013, Derry became the first city to be designated UK City of Culture, having been awarded the title in 2010.
Most public transport in Northern Ireland is operated by the subsidiaries of Translink. The city’s buses are run by Ulsterbus Foyle, which offers 13 routes across the city into the suburban areas, and a free bus runs from the Waterside Railway Station to the city centre, where all buses leave from the Foyle Street Bus Station.

Northern Ireland Railways operates a single route from Londonderry railway station (also known as Waterside Station) on the Waterside to Belfast via Bellarena, Castlerock, Coleraine, Ballymoney, Cullybackey, Ballymena, Antrim, Mossley West and Whiteabbey. The majority of the serviced apartments Derry has to offer are near transport links of some kind.
View over Derry from the city walls

What our clients say about us.

Our Awards

Service Excellence Team Award
SAA Winner
Emmas EMEA
Game Changer Team Award
SAA Winner
Emmas APAC 2023 Winner

Our Certificates